NPR, Lindsey Lohan, the New York Times, and Why I Can’t Believe Anything I Read

October 23, 2007 at 2:54 pm 1 comment

[FYI: Today’s post is YouTube heavy – Ed.]

So as not to simply piggy back the Pruple Cow‘s success, here’s a little story that must be told…

I have stopped listening to regular FM radio. I have had enough of Soulja Boy (hereforth known as the macarena), Timbaland, Timbaland, Timbaland, and Timbaland. The non-ranting reason is because I have heard these song enough times that I don’t want to hear them anymore. Because of this, I exclusively listen to my iPod or to NPR whilst in the car.

During the past week, they have been running a membership drive in order to fund the station. As one of their selling points, a reporter promised to bring us only the important news of the day, and maintain a “Lindsey-Lohan-free and Britney-Spears-free broadcast.” I had two immediate thoughts: 1) the sales pitch is that the listener-base will be kept ignorant of celebrity gossip; 2) is this what we’ve come to in journalism? – competition has to promise to NOT bring typical news?

Apparently, yes. (I said I would not SIMPLY piggyback on the Cow. This article is a COMPLEX piggyback.) Another article, ironically from the Times, regarding the issue.

I am fed up with press-as-PR posturing.

If a newspaper wants to earn some extra revenue by publishing a section of favorable reviews and fluff pieces, I’m ok with that. We all need to eat and those types of things can help pay the bills.

Where I have a problem is when I am being told (subversively or otherwise) that the reviews are news. If a journalist has stopped being objective, they are no longer reporting – they are reviewing. There is a market and a place for that, but it is not appropriate to try to fool consumers with those articles.

However I consume my news (radio, newspaper, t.v.), I don’t want to have to turn on my my b.s. detector. It’s not fair to me or to the people who don’t have b.s. detectors.

(And to anyone who’s a fan of Entertainment Tonight, Extra!, etc… everyone featured on the show has something to sell. It is not a coincidence that your favorite celebrity was shown coming out of the club with a new beau during the week of her movie release.)

While I am a fan of integrated marketing, there needs to be standards for journalism. If not, it becomes a slippery slope.

The sources that distribute the news are subject to criticism beyond editorializing. Marketing in journalism, without ethics, will impact the long-term success of all product. If a favorable review appears in the Yourfavorite Tribune, and the people using the product have a directly converse experience with the product, the end result is worse than the same person having the same experience with managed expectations.

Entry filed under: advertising, marketing, radio. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Cyber Sunday – WWE Serves Its Customers Better than Your Company Bob Dylan <3’s Cadillac

1 Comment Add your own

  • […] NPR Continues Not To Deliver News, Listeners Rejoice February 5, 2008 at 3:53 pm | In marketing | Tags: long tail, npr, politics, radio, super tuesday A little while ago, I talked about how NPR was running a registration drive and part of their promise to listeners was to not deliver about Lohan, Spears, or any of that other gossip-style news.  (Read article here.) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MAJOR ANNOUNCEMENT!

This blog is no longer being updated here!

But you're in luck because you can now get the same great content at the new brianFeener.com!

Check it out today!

ABOUT

Business analysis with a marketing, technology, and entertainment slant. Anything is fair game so long that it is interesting.

Let me know what you think in the comments or send me an email.


