Destry and I Wasted GoDaddy’s Money

March 13, 2008 at 8:38 pm Leave a comment

(For anyone who is trying to get to this site through the main Brian Feener.com link – you can’t read this anyways. But my lucky WordPress people can! We’ll talk to them… help is apparently on the way.)

Yesterday, I had registered a hosting plan to go with my domain name at GoDaddy. Stupid me – I ended up setting up a second account, so things weren’t getting linked together. So I called up customer service, and in less than 10 minutes, I had the issue resolved. Great!

Cut to 24 hours later when I’m trying to load my files into the site. It didn’t work and after 12 hours of waiting for things to load up, I decided to call customer service again.

I won’t bore you with the details, but the representative Destry and I went through about 10 possible solutions before he said “I have no idea what’s happening here.” I then mentioned that I had merged the account less than 24 hours ago. “Oh!” he said. “Then let’s check the IP address!” Sure enough, things weren’t pointing in the right direction. In less than 5 minutes, the problem is (apparently) solved.

Destry and I wasted 40 minutes of talk time because GoDaddy had not taken the steps to log my activity. A simple log would have shown that I had called up yesterday and made a change to my account. A simple log would have shown that I had talked to Sergio yesterday. A simple log would have made my day easier, Destry’s day easier, and GoDaddy’s pockets full of the $4.00 it took to handle my call.

$4.00 not a big deal, except that it is about a full month of my hosting plan, and times 1,000 customers, it becomes a big deal.

This proves that the more you work on the back-end of a problem, the more you think a step ahead of your customer, the more you anticipate possible scenarios, the better you are prepared to be remarkable. It’s harder this way, but it’s worth it. Business is chess, not checkers.

Entry filed under: customer service, technology. Tags: , , , , .

The Right Questions Society of Progressive Marketers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MAJOR ANNOUNCEMENT!

This blog is no longer being updated here!

But you're in luck because you can now get the same great content at the new brianFeener.com!

Check it out today!

ABOUT

Business analysis with a marketing, technology, and entertainment slant. Anything is fair game so long that it is interesting.

Let me know what you think in the comments or send me an email.


